It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:25 am

Beginners: Measuring high voltages in a safer way

Hints and tips for vintage technology repair and restoration

Beginners: Measuring high voltages in a safer way

Post by Andrewausfa » Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:50 pm

unclereggie wrote: You have to remember that I am a beginner and still very nervous of sticking things in there when it's plugged in.

That's a good concern not a bad one, which is why I suggested clips so you can stand back and watch your meter in safety :) I've done you a photo or two in between making dinner.

Insulated croc clips. your meter prods fit in the end.
Testing002a.jpg

Measuring voltage on smoothing can, positive clip is on one of the cans tags, negative to chassis.
Testing001a.jpg

Next step is to switch off, remove plug from mains, set up the test leads for the next measurement, plug in, switch on, take the measurement. Switch off, remove plug from mains. You don't touch the leads at all while power is applied.

Andrew

Location: North Hykeham, Lincolnshire and Ilford, Essex (but not for much longer ...!)

Re: Beginners: Measuring high voltages in a safer way

Post by Terrykc » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:54 pm

I appreciate concerns about touching (high) voltage points while a set is switched on but insulated crocodile clips are far from ideal for the purpose as the physical size of the exposed metal part makes it very difficult not to create a short to nearby tags and valveholder pins, etc.

The probes supplied with many meters are like these:

DMM_Probe.jpg

Again, there is a lot of metal on these and, of course, they require two hands to hold them in place, so the black one is best replaced with a crocodile clip. (Note, as the DMM is similar, I've highlighted the 1000V DC range ...*)

The best thing to do with such a probe is fit a piece of snug fitting sleeving over the metal - a piece of insulation from a bit of wire or flex often works well - so that only the very end of the tip is exposed.