It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:28 am

Readings from a lamp limiter

Readings from a lamp limiter

Post by unclereggie » Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:14 pm

Hello all.
I've been using a lamp limiter for a few years now and today got a response that I am not so familiar with. Specifically - what to examine first to track down the cause of the symptoms.

I have a set on the bench which looked in good shape: no burning, scorching or obviously distressed areas but full of old Hunts and wax caps plus a few perished wires. All of this was meticulously replaced and repaired before even attempting to put any power through the set but when I did the lamp glowed at its full 60w brightneess. Something I've not seen before. No alarming smells or smoke from the set in fact nothing after about 60 seconds so switched off. Had a quick check round then tried again same result. I'm wondering what this reading could point to. Obviously the set is drawing the full amps to make the bulb glow (or none?) but what is the first obvious place to look. The mains transformer? Quite nervous to try anything without sounding this out with people first. Any help you might have will be gratefully taken.

Re: Readings from a lamp limiter

Post by Red_to_Black » Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:42 pm

You must have a reasonably heavy short early on in the supply circuit, I would be cold (dead) testing with a multi-meter (set to ohms) particularly around where the mains enters.

Post by crackle » Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:52 pm

Hi Reg
You are correct, this indicates an almost short circuit fault. Unplug the radio from the mains.
If this happened to me I would be checking the wiring to the set and the mains switch. Check the mains is not wired across the wrong terminals on the switch if it is a double pole switch.
Operate the switch and measure the resistance across the contacts when turning on/off to check you have the correct terminals on the switch.