It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:51 am

Construction of another digital clock

Valves, Transistors, IC's and Components. Bench test techniques, Test Gear - Valve Testers, Scopes, CRT Testers, Bridges, Sig Gens, Pattern Gens, Workshop tours etc

Construction of another digital clock

Post by Miguel López » Tue Jun 14, 2016 9:45 pm

Hi everybody

I have begun the construction of my next digital clock. As I always want to make something new, for fun and learning, this time I will use three twin multiplexed seven segment lamps, with commom-cathode LEDs. I have never built a multiplexed display before. I will use SN74XX TTL chips and some CMOS.

There are several block which need to be designed:
- Lamps circuit, with segment handling, and digit selection inputs
- Digit selection and data selection circuits
- The clock (I will use the same circuit that I used for my Nixie Clock)
- Power supply and UPS system (same as previous one)

So, I will focus on the first two blocks. I have already designed the PCBs and mounted the components. I'm using about 1 kHz for display sweeping, so digits appear very steady.

The seven segment decoder will be the old good 7447. As this lamps are commom-cathode type, and the 7447 is designed for common-anode operation, each segment will be powered by a PNP transistor driven by the 7447 outputs. This way the transistors act as inverters, and so the common-cathode operation is achieved.

Then, each digit (7S lamp) will be enabled using an NPN transistor which will be driven by the selection circuit. Sequence is:
1.) All lamps OFF
2.) First BCD number is selected (no lamp is ON yet)
3.) Lamp corresponding to that BCD number is enabled (ON)
4.) This lamps is turned OFF (all lamps OFF again)
5.) Next BCD number is selected.
6.) Lamp corresponding to that BCD number is enabled (ON)
7.) Repeat for the rest of the lamps, and then repeat the entire sequence continuosly.